NICK Skellett is to remain leader of Surrey County Council following an executive reshuffle.

The decision will mean by the end of his term the Conservative county councillor for Oxted will have been in office for 12 years.

Cllr Skellet has also been confirmed as executive chairman and welcomes two new faces to the team.

Michael Gosling becomes executive member for resources. He takes over from David Harmer who takes over the environment portfolio.

Denise Saliagopoulos is the second newcomer to the team. She takes over policy and performance from Helyn Clack who will lead the safer and stronger communities portfolio.

Elsewhere Peter Martin switches roles from waste to schools, children and youth services.

Angela Fraser has been re-elected chairman of Surrey County Council and Geoff Marlow has retained his vice-chairman role.

Cllr Skellett said: "Our commitment is to be an outstanding council, making Surrey a better place, and our priorities will guide us in delivering high-quality, responsive and value for money services for Surrey's residents.

"I have every confidence that every one on our new executive will be do an excellent job in taking these forward and I have challenged each and every one of the executive, old and new, to continue the excellent work that has already been done - and to build on it."

Surrey County Council executive:
Nick Skellett, leader and chairman
Helyn Clack, safer and stronger communities
Michael Gosling, resources
David Harmer, environment
Ian Lake, support services
Sally Marks, adults and community care
Peter Martin, schools, children and youth services
Dorothy Mitchell, children and families
David Munro, transport
Denise Saliagopoulos, policy and performance

Select Committee chairmen and vice-chairmen:
Adults and community care - Kay Hammond (chairman), Fiona White (vice-chairman)
Schools and learning - Margaret Hicks, Dorothy Ross-Tomlin
Children and families - Yvonna Lay, Marisa Heath
Safer and stronger communities - Maurice Neighbour, David Goodwin
Corporate management - Tim Hall, Chris Slyfield
Environment and economy - Marian Myland, Carol Coleman
Transport - David Hodge, Nick Harrison
Health scrutiny - Mary Angell, Peter Hickman

Other committees:
Planning and regulatory - Pat Frost (chairman), Laurie Burrell (vice-chairman)
Audit and governance: Alan Peirce, Cyril Baily
Personnel and appointments: Nick Skellett, David Harmer