Voters kept the Conservatives in power at county hall in last week's local elections – but in East Surrey UKIP candidates put in a strong showing.

Echoing the national headlines from last week's polling, UKIP finished runners-up in four of the seven county council seats in the Life area being contested in Reigate and Banstead borough.

The party also finished second in the two by-elections in the Life area.

Across the county, the turn-out for voting in all 81 divisions stood at 30%, with the Conservatives taking 58 seats – way ahead of the nine that went to the Liberal Democrats and nine that went to Residents’ Association and Independents.

UKIP's flourish only translated into three seats in Surrey, while Labour and the Green Party took one seat apiece.

In Reigate and Banstead borough, the highest turn-out in the Life area was seen in Redhill West and Meadvale at 32%.

Voters there elected Conservative Natalie Bramhall with 995 votes – or 30% of the vote.

Sarah Finch for The Green Party finished second with 700 votes (21%), Tim Pearson for UKIP came third with 633 (19%), Peter John Lambell, Liberal Democrats, finished fourth with 587 (18%), and Labour's John Michael Berge, fifth, with 364 (11%).

The borough's next highest turn-out in the Life area (31%) was in Reigate, where Conservative Zully Grant-Duff was elected with 1,588 (49%), ahead of the Liberal Democrats' William Peter Henry Dyer, who polled 579 (18%), followed by UKIP's Stephen David Alfred Russell, with 515 (16%), Labour's Andrew David Saunders, 281 (9%), and the Green Party's Bryn Truscott, 268 (8%).

In Redhill East, where the turn-out was 29%, Jonathan Essex of The Green Party was elected on 1,457 votes (50%), beating Conservative Richard Coad, who polled 645 (22%).

UKIP's Colin Brian Stiff finished third with 379 (13%), ahead of Labour's Stewart James Dack, who polled 345 (12%), and Liberal Democrat Andrew James Cressy, who polled 103 (4%).

Voting at Earlswood and Reigate South, where the turn-out was 28%, saw Conservative Barbara Thomson elected with 955 votes (33%).

UKIP's Joseph Brian Fox finished second with 899 (31%), ahead of Labour's Graham Wildridge, who polled 615 (21%), Katie Smith of The Green Party, 235 (8%), and Liberal Democrat Anthony John Lambell, 219 (7%).

In Horley East, with turn-out at 24%, Conservative Dorothy Ross-Tomlin was elected with 1,069 (47%), ahead of UKIP's Christian Stevens, who polled 716 (31%), Labour's Linda Jane Mabbett, 253 (11%), and Liberal Democrat Tim Deevoy, who polled 243 (11%).

The turn-out at Horley West, Salfords and Sidlow was 25%, and Conservative Kay Hammond was elected with 1,038 votes (42%), while UKIP's Timothy Francis Brooke-Harte, finished runner-up with 889 (36%), Labour's Rosie Norgrove, third on 335 (14%), and Liberal Democrat Barry James Hamilton, fourth on 215 (9%).

And with the turn-out 25% at Merstham and Banstead South, Conservative Bob Gardner was elected with 1,095 votes (44%), while UKIP's Bob Cambridge finished second with 698 votes (28%), ahead of Labour's Julie Halford, who polled 450 (18%), and Liberal Democrat Christopher Ian Howell, who polled 271 (11%).

In Mole Valley district, turn-out in Dorking Rural stood at 41% and saw Conservative Helyn Clack elected with 1,810 votes (40%).

Liberal Democrat Michael Burdett Ward was runner-up with 1527 votes (34%), ahead of UKIP's Leigh Jones, who polled 935 (21%), and Labour's Malcolm Victor Ward, who polled 261 (6%).

In the two by-elections in the Life area, South Park and Woodhatch was won by Conservative Simon Rickman with 546 votes.

With turn-out there at 31%, UKIP's Joseph Fox finished second with 518 votes, ahead of Labour's Helen Young, who polled 327 votes, the Green Party's Lynne Burnham Green, 149, and the Liberal Democrats' Anthony Lambell, 115.

And in the by-election for Burstow, Horne and Outwood in Tandridge district, with turn-out at 31.6%, Conservative Christopher Byrne was elected with 699 votes, ahead of UKIP's Graham Bailey, who polled 548 votes, and the Liberal Democrats' Judy Wilkinson, who polled 188 votes.

For the full results visit the respective council websites at:, and