The Huntsman once stood in Redhill High Street where Woolworths now is, but instead of serving the general public it was part of stables that had stalls for up to 20 horses and catered exclusively for hunting men, their servants, liverymen and coachmen.

Apart from the stabling area the building had an office, a serving bar and a kitchen, with access from the office to the bar via the kitchen and with the office also being used as a public room.

It was first licensed prior to 1869 and in 1878 was run by the then owner Charles Robins. Sam Marsh later bought the stabling business from Mr Robins and records show that the Huntsman was being run by him as a free house in 1892.

It was still in existence in 1910 and probably had the status more of a club than a public house, there being no sign outside.

There were several attempts over the years to add a spirit licence to the beer licence already held but all seem to have failed. The number and proximity of other pubs in Redhill only the yard of the Wheatsheaf pub separated it from the Huntsman was the reason for a licence being refused in the early 1900s and the closure of a rather unique pub.

- Article and picture courtesy of Alan Moore, author of A History of Redhill volumes 1 and 2,